Things Above…

My husband, daughter, and I just got back from La Mision, Mexico. We were spying out the land God has prepared for us. What a week it has been! We were joined by a group of people from our church to do a short-term missions trip and to see the different needs in the community and surrounding areas of La Mision.

Riding up the long bumpy dirt road I realized why God had us live in eastern Washington for six years off-grid. The dirt road was similar to the one that we had to drive on to get to our little cabin in the woods. Rocks, sticks, and bushes line the driveway. I may not have understood it at the time of living off-grid, but I see now why our family went through some of the trials and triumphs we faced at our cabin. God was preparing us for the future; moving to a different country to share the good news of Jesus Christ!

On our trip we met several missionaries and got to see a small glimpse of the kinds of things they face. We now have a tiny understanding and can pray for specific needs. We saw many orphans, some with special needs. My heart broke when I realized they were orphans and would not get to experience a typical family. Then as I thought about it, I began to rejoice. Rejoicing in the fact that they are part of a much bigger family with love that abounds without expectation. As I held little Sammy in my arms, I prayed over him and prayed a prayer of blessing on him. Realizing that he was touching my heart probably more than I touched his. That a deep love that goes beyond borders, or race, or social status means more than anything this world could buy.

Needless to say, we are definitely moving to Mexico; dropping our nets and going to do a work far beyond our reach and resources. I know God will provide. It may not look exactly as I have pictured in my mind, but I know that God is directing us and I can rest and find comfort in the promises He has shown us. It won’t be easy, but I know this one fact…God is who He says He is. He is “I Am.” The same yesterday, today, and forever!

“Set your mind on things above, not on the things on the earth.” Colossians 3:2

Leave a Reply

