No Jealousy Here

“And Jonathan took off the robe that was on him and gave it to David, with his armor, even to his sword and his bow and his belt.” 1 Samuel 18:4

I have been doing a study through 1 Samuel with some ladies at our church. It has been a great time and I look forward to our daily reading every morning. It’s an online group, which I have never done before. At first, I was a little skeptical. I didn’t think you could really connect with one another without it being face to face. However, I have found that not to be the case. It has been very refreshing and I enjoy seeing each other’s comments on what we have read for that day.

I was amazed when reading about the friendship between David and Jonathan. In 1 Samuel 18:1 it says, “The soul of Jonathan was knit to the soul of David, and Jonathan loved him as his own soul.” Wow! That is intense. I liken it to a kindred spirit. I have a few ladies in my life that I have known from the moment I met them that we were soulmates. Its a fantastic feeling to know that there is someone that understands you without having to explain yourself. You may be completely different in personality, but the same in spirit because we are unified in Christ.

Here, we see Jonathan and David’s souls knit together. Later in 1 Samuel chapter 18 we see Saul’s jealousy for David, to the point where Saul wants to kill David. But, Saul’s son, Jonathan has no jealousy in him toward David. Jonathan was going to be heir to the throne, but we see him being happy that one day David would be king, appointed by God. Jonathan willingly gave David his robe, armor, sword, bow, and belt. A sign of humility, respect, and a loving friendship.

That is my desire. That I will always be excited when good things happen to the friends in my life. That I would never let pride or jealousy rule over me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

