Experiencing Jesus’s Touch

“Now a leper came to Him, imploring Him, kneeling down to Him and saying to Him, “If you are willing, You can make me clean.” Then Jesus, moved with compassion, stretched out His hand and touched him, and said to him, “I am willing; be cleansed.”

As I read the Bible, I am amazed at how many times Jesus was willing to touch the unclean. To touch a person with leprosy meant that you – yourself became unclean and had to go through a ceremonial purification, which was a huge inconvenience. Yet, He was willing.

We see in Mark 5;21-42 that Jesus was even willing to touch the dead. Again, making himself unclean. As I ponder these thoughts I think about this past week. We have been dealing with many sick people in our own home. My son, Aaron had the stomach flu and the rest of us have been fighting off a head cold. My husband’s cold turned into a sinus infection, making him all the more miserable.

When our son was sick, I thought how reluctantly I wanted to clean up the bathroom after him. Yet, when I weighed the outcome of cleaning up the germs so no one else would get the stomach flu, to potentially making myself sick because I was the one cleaning, I decided it was worth the risk. I was willing to expose myself to the germs on the off-chance that everyone else would stay healthy.

I realized that’s exactly what Christ did for us. He took on all our sin, Who had no sin, to die on a tree for us, so that we would be without sin, to live eternally with Him forever. What an amazing thought!

Lord, thank you for your ultimate sacrifice. I pray that as I go throughout my day I will not get caught up in the things that are tedious for me, but that I would have a mind of Christ and be willing to do the unclean things. Help me to touch the untouchable and love the unlovable just like you did.   -Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

