God Cares About the Little Things…

Indeed, the very hairs on your head are all numbered. Do not fear; You are more valuable than many sparrows. Luke 12:7

I have been collecting a dish set for a while now and almost have all of the pieces. I’ve been looking in thrift stores, antique stores, and online websites. I have found quite a few pieces and was looking for the sugar bowl to go with the creamer that I have. I was becoming quite obsessed. I found myself going to thrift stores even when I had no other reason to go, but just to look for the tiny bowl. I was enjoying the treasure hunt, but it was becoming disappointing and the search was turning into something that I did not intend.

One day, my daughter asked if we could go to the thrift store. She was looking for something specific for her room. As we were walking through the store, I was thinking about various things and if there was anything that I needed to purchase. I was walking through the shoe aisle, when I realized I hadn’t been to the dishes section of the store. I slowly meandered over to where the plates and cups were, but didn’t find any of the dishes that belonged to my set. “Oh well.” I thought. “The only thing I need to complete my set is the sugar bowl.” I then walked through the section where some of the other odd and ends were kept, such as serving platters and crystal vases. I began slowly looking on one of the glass shelves and way in the back, something caught my eye. There before me was the sugar bowl I needed to complete my set! I couldn’t believe it. There it was. All by itself, without the creamer. When I gave up searching, that was when I found the treasure I was looking for.

When I arrived home, I thought about the day more intently and realized how much God loves me. He blessed me with a little blessing that turned out to be a huge reward. He loves me so much that He even cares about sugar bowls. Does God really care about little things like that? You bet He does! This example showed me how much He cares about every detail of my life. Some might say it was just a coincidence. I don’t believe so. I believe God wanted to show me His unfailing love for me that day.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for your unfailing love and that you know and care about all the details of my life. You are so amazing and I can’t deny who you are. When I doubt, please help me to remember all the little blessings you give me each day…even little sugar bowls.

One thought on “God Cares About the Little Things…

Leave a Reply

