Inward Beauty…

What does it mean to be beautiful?

“Don’t let your adornment be merely outward – arranging of the hair, wearing gold, or putting on fine apparel- rather let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God.”     1 Peter 3:3,4

This verse was spoken to me from a dear child of God. The day it was given, I was driving down a country road and was listening to a christian radio station. A song came on that was talking about how beautiful Jesus was. It got me to thinking that the world looked at Jesus and just saw an ordinary man. The Bible says that Jesus was a man of no reputation (Philippians 2:7); that there was nothing to attract him. Then as He hung on the cross, He didn’t even resemble a man. Most had to look away because He had been so badly beaten. When you realize what He went through for us, how can anyone but look and say, “How beautiful.” This thought brought me to myself and wondering if people see me as beautiful. Not beautiful as a vain beauty – but do they see the beauty of Jesus in my life? If I were to take off all of my make-up and have my hair left in its natural state – what would people say of me? Would they recognize Jesus and say, “Wow, how beautiful!”

After the day went on I didn’t think about this thought any longer. That evening I went to our Bible study and that’s when one of our shepherds at church had a verse for me. It was the above verse. I was overwhelmed with it all. God had actually answered my thought. There in black and white the verse speaks of letting your adornment be the hidden person of the heart, the incorruptible beauty of a beauty and quiet spirit, Which is what? Precious in the sight of God!

In the Greek incorruptible is aphthartos, which means not liable to corruption or decay, imperishable of things or immortal of the risen dead. What an awesome thing! Beauty that is incorruptible – it can’t and won’t decay. That kind of beauty will not go by the wayside because of age. It will withstand to the end.

The word precious is not in the concordance, however, great price is and it is the word poluteles, meaning requiring very great outlay, very costly, excellent, or of surpassing value. That means I am of surpassing value! I felt like God reached down in all of His wisdom and showed me a truth that I can hang on to when I start to believe the lies of the evil one. When the blows come and the whispers say, “See, what value do you have? You aren’t worth anything!” I will be able to quote this verse and say, “I do have value – I have surpassing value. I have the beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit.”

Lord, thank you for revealing yourself to me through others. Give me the grace to never doubt your Word. When thoughts come that are not Godly, or when I think I don’t have any value, help me to remember that I am precious in the sight of YOU!

 

Leave a Reply

