Hiding Place

Here is the story of how we ended up at our 20 acres of land…

Get away from here and turn eastward, and hide by the Brook Cherith, which flows into the Jordon. And it will be that you shall drink from the brook, and I have commanded the ravens to feed you there.” 1 Kings 17:3, 4

I had been in a car accident two years before the Lord showed my husband this verse. I had received a settlement from the accident and we were trying to decide what to do with the money. We prayed about it and felt like God was telling us to buy some land. We weren’t sure where or, how we were going to do this. We kept praying. We knew the Lord would show us what to do in His time.

We had just moved from California to Washington state and had a peace about looking in Eastern Washington for land. I had grown up in Washington and I was not looking forward to being in the rainy state once again. However, I knew that the eastern part of Washington state was much sunnier than other parts and it is known for its fruit orchards. We started to do our real estate search and found a few pieces of property that intrigued us. We took some time to look at the different properties but nothing looked promising.

The last day that we were on our mini vacation looking for real estate my husband, Mark explained that he had two more properties he wanted to see. I wasn’t hopeful as the last few properties were not what we wanted and we didn’t have a peace about any of them. We finally headed out from our motel room and went for a drive up a long, winding road up into the mountains. We drove for what seemed like a lifetime and finally came to a dirt road. As we drove up the last part of three long, rock infested hills, we came to a tiny, cute hunter’s cabin. We all got out of our small car, turned around and saw one of the most breathtaking views I have ever seen. At that moment we knew this was the property for us.

Eventually we bought the property and we were now on a journey that would forever change my life. Little did I know how much the above verse would play in our everyday life. We had a natural spring that ran on the property. This is where we would get our daily water. We learned to hide in God’s presence here. We called our land Cherith Brook because it was so full of peace and provision.

Is God asking you to do something that seems impossible in your own eyes? Cry out to the Lord and seek His face. Ask Him to direct and lead you.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for your provisions and for taking me on a lifelong journey of trusting you. I ask forgiveness for my doubts that seem to creep in. Help me to abide in you at all times. Remind me that You are continually working in my life to make me more Christ-like. Thank you for your love. In Jesus name…Amen.

Leave a Reply

