Our “Homeschool Schedule”

This year I am homeschooling three teenagers! Wow, who would have thought I’d make it this far? If this is your first year homeschooling, hang in there! It is worth all the blood, sweat, and tears. I had my doubts in the beginning, but through patience and perseverance, we are on the “home stretch”.

Here is what our schedule looks like:

8:00 am Everyone up and doing morning chores.

9:30 am School starts altogether. I try to do as much together as I can. This includes; Bible, History, and any read-alouds I want to add to our school year.

10:30 am One on one time starts with a child of my choice. If I know someone needs help with a particular subject, this allows me to have that extra time that is needed. This includes; Math, L.A., and Science.

11:30 am One on one time with another one of my children: same as above, Math, L.A., Science (although my two olders are in the same science we can knock out that with the two of them.)

12:00 pm break for lunch which can be anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour.

1:00 pm One on one time with the 2nd child from above if time is needed. If they are able to do their school work on their own then I will continue one on one time with the last child at this time.

2:00 pm Done with “school” per se. We now do any physical activity they want. Some examples are walking, jumping on the trampoline, archery, soccer, catch, etc.

This schedule is not “rigid” and is subject to other things that might need our attention.

3 thoughts on “Our “Homeschool Schedule”

  1. I was homeschooled throughout my youthful years (not I am no longer “youthful” hahaha).

    As I am now in my late twenties, I look back and see that although my schooling was extremely non-rigid, I think I was “educated” simply from being around my parents.

    My father was a pastor/preacher of the “professor type.” There were so many things about history, language, philosophy, mathematics and so on that he would talk about because those were subjects he was interested in.

    And I think that is how education really works. It isn’t teachers giving out information to students for them to “know” and have “sink in” to do well on a test. Young people pickup on things that adults are genuinely interested in. This inspires a natural curiosity to arise.

    What do you think?

  2. I agree. That is why my husband and I have decided to share our lives whole-heartily with our kids. They do learn even when we aren’t doing “school”. We’ve had times when doing school at home just didn’t fit and I am amazed at how much learning took place!

Leave a Reply

